1. Hi, Guest,

    Currently we have three official hacks running. CSGO, Battlefield Hardline and Audition America. Be sure to check them out!

    CSGO - "50 Shades of Gaben" - CSGO Cheat

    Battlefield Hardline Cheat - FREE

    Audition Redbana Hack [ARH Modz]

    More to Come!
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
CSGO VIP Cheats now available!! Click here to get a copy!
Dismiss Notice
Want to Shorten Your Long URL? Check out our sister website Tiniurl to solve your needs!

A way to decrease CPU usage ?

Discussion in 'FlyFF Discussion' started by cougher, Jul 26, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. cougher

    cougher

    Messages:
    67
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2006
    Is there a way to decrease CPU usage ? If you minimize with Task manager apparently your game freezes... The only way to decrease your CPU usage is to have flyff on window mode and just click and hold the top bar, picture freezes and CPU goes down to 0% and when you release your mouse button the picture is alive again and CPU on 50%+ ... So 1 time i tried to rig my mouse button to hold the bar for a while, and I came back after like 30min and I was disconnected.. So that probably doesn't work

    So is there any known method to lower CPU usage while running flyff ? Its really crucial for my notebook lol
     
  2. Shady420

    Shady420

    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Get a better computer...
    I tried this when ifirst started playing games/ xD
     
  3. cougher

    cougher

    Messages:
    67
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2006
    My computer is just fine... Its just that its a laptop and dont think its good that CPU is 50%+ all the time
     
  4. wolfia

    wolfia

    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2007
    i could help you just give me a sec
     
  5. wolfia

    wolfia

    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2007
    okie sorry bout, okies thing about premade computers such as laptops, the company you buy the laptops are premade, so therefore if u had them do all the work which im not sure they installed all the basic needs from all that i assue, is what they did to your laptop, so what you want to do is backup all the files that u have installed urself such as ur games, music, and other things, then do a fresh install on ur laptop, this is because all the junk on ur laptop is slowing down ur computer, so ur processer has to think twice as hard then before, you by fresh installing it, you will get all the junk that the company had put on the laptop before hand.. hope this helps
     
  6. frostdemon

    frostdemon

    Messages:
    326
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2006
    tss... y'know, its ONLY like this, when playing flyff, before u start. check Your Memory and your CPU Usage. memory is the 2 digit number, and the memory usage is the many numbers 1. memory takes out ur RAM, which decreases fine gameplay, and ur cpu usage are the 1 which other programs use. for example. U use AVG Antivirus which uses 24,000 CPU usage. and a Yahoo Messenger which uses 40,000 cpu usage. exit it first before playing flyff man.. and set ur flyff options to LOW. its better. make ur windows theme into Classic. done.
     
  7. adnelortiz

    adnelortiz

    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2007
    All this makes no sense, the only culprit here is GAYGUARD who dumps everything into a gigantic swapfile, sometimes even bigger that the whole flyff game folder, just to avoid hacks (according to a GM I once discussed this with).

    The worse thing is that with more resources available (ie better computer) it gets worse since it swallows all of what it can grab, worse than the Catalyst Control Center in it's early stages.

    Solution? find a way to get rid of gayguard.....and let me know on the process.

    I have played many games with my rig that do circles around FlyFF requirements, yet I can multi task just fine. Blame GayGuard.
     
  8. BSoD

    BSoD

    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2006
    Are you kidding? Catalyst Control Center totally sucks now, my brother always has troubles with corrupted installs, he gets a BSoD from FlyFF half the time running the latest versions so he's always using an older one.

    Anyway, on topic, there isn't much you can do but halt all the background processes when you play. Upgrading to an actual computer would help a lot, my comp can almost multi task if it weren't for having a crappy wireless usb stick that fails on me when there's too much traffic. A dual-core is very effective for multi-tasking. But hell, my CPU load is 100% on my laptop whenever I play flyff, not below that, and I don't have any background processes running.
     
  9. Merick

    Merick Banned

    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2007
    Do this...
    1>Go to start>all programs>Accessories>System tools>Disk Clean up
    and delete all the things you think u wont need.
    2>Sometimes go to Interter>Properties>Delete>Delete all
    3>Click right click on your desktop go to properties and put ur them as windows classic then go to desktop tab and click on ''none'' press apply and ok.
    4>Restart you're pc enter your password click on the internet icon go to www.gamerzplanet.net come back to my post and press thnx:lol:
     
  10. DoomzDay

    DoomzDay

    Messages:
    872
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2007
    i wrote a small tut how to edit ur microsoft xp only works with xp helps a little you can look it up
     
  11. void

    void

    Messages:
    5,030
    Likes Received:
    93
    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2000
    If you have shared memory, give a bit more to your graphic chip.
    You should have at least 64MB for your graphic chipset.
    On my Fujitsu Siemens, when i turn down to 32MB, it allmost dies when starting flyff.

    Be sure your virtual memory file on Drive C is at least 1GB, maybe 1,5 GB or higher. Mine's at 1,5 GB. (c:\pagefile.sys is the file representating your virtual memory)

    Try if it runs faster at 16 bit than at 32bit (it should).

    Kill unnecessary tasks while playing flyff.
    I.e. Virus scanner if you're not downloading anything and dont have shared folders.

    The drive with flyff on should have at least 500MB free space.
    So it can allways store errorlogs or screenshots without crashing and hanging up.

    If you have more than one cpu core, see if you can split up the processes between the cpu cores.

    Tweak your system with TuneUp Utilities or something similar.

    I hope I helped you to get flyff run a bit smoother.
     
  12. cougher

    cougher

    Messages:
    67
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2006
    You guys got me wrong. My laptop's specifics are: Intel Centrino DUO 1,6ghz , 2GB ram, GeForce GO 7400 256mb and I'm not having ANY problems with flyff whatsoever! Everything runs smooth as it should.
    What i want is, when i make a shop and go afk, that i could minimize the game somehow so CPU wouldn't be loaded...
    I played many MMORPG games before and you could minimize them all to get 0% CPU usage.. But not flyff... So when im sleeping and have flyff on i feel like im wasting CPU cause apparently im not even playing it. Not good for the graphic card either...
    I don't know if flyff creators built this game like this on purpose so u cant minimize or what damnit, they want to destroy our comps lol..

    And u know how laptops are, when CPU is down to 0% they will be quiet as little kittens cause they dont need a fan, but when CPU usage increases the fan will start up and they can get loud as hell.. And mine is when im running flyff all the time

    And its been so awkward lately.. When i got my laptop, first couple of months, if i didnt play any games or such, the computer was really quiet because the fan wasnt on.. So when i ran any game the fan started up which is totally normal.. But now lately, even when im not playing any game, and im only on my desktop, the fan will still be running... all the time
    Probably because so much crap got on my computer ? Would reformat solve this ?
     
  13. data92

    data92

    Messages:
    634
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2005

    lol? My laptop is crappy, compared to urs. but it works good enough.


    Are u running on vista? Cur ur laptop sounds new to me
     
  14. jojotjuh

    jojotjuh

    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2007
    what I always do is pretty simple, but requires a dual core pc
    I shut down all the unnecessary tasks,
    shut down antivrus etc

    so that only vital processes remain
    then, i assign to each system task only 1 cpu and to flyff both cpu's never had anyh problem :)
     
  15. l33t ch0c0l4t3

    l33t ch0c0l4t3 Banned

    Messages:
    1,084
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2005
    Get more DDR2 Ram, get a new 256+ MB graphics card (NVIDIA is good) and disk defrag every once in a while.
     
  16. metalh3dz

    metalh3dz

    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2007
    i think defragmentation also helps..
     
  17. jackiexiong

    jackiexiong

    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2006
    why do i find idiots on here all the time... whether u minimize flyff or not the usage will be running still. ur specs are fine but dang laptops are laptops... first and for most the fan kicks in for a reason. why? do u what ur mother board in ur laptop too overheat cause when it gets hot to a certain point it will shut down whether u want it or not and dont blame the fan. for those idiots who dont know the background running computers here is a instruction panel from me and from my own experiences to knock out unwanted start up items that dam loads up in the start up process. THIS METHOD IS FOR SURE TO REDUCE the CPU USaGE AND FASTER START UP TIME. here we go...

    1. Click on Start
    2. Click on Run
    3. Type in "msconfig"
    4. Go to the tab that says "Start Ups"
    5. Click on "Disable All"
    (NOTE IF U WANT TO RUN UR ANTIVIRUS LOOK FOR THE PATH DIR AND CHECK IT)
    6. Click "Apply"
    7. Click "Close"
    8. Click "Restart"
    9. MOST IMPORTANT STEP (PUSH THE "THANKS" BUTTON)


    Note: Disk Defragment is recommended too but not need
     
  18. void

    void

    Messages:
    5,030
    Likes Received:
    93
    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2000
    blindly disableing everything can be bad.
    not everything in the auto start is crap. just a few things :p
    i removed the nvidia manager from there because it kept crashing explorer.exe.
    well you should not just blindly turn everything off...
    you should look if it is really not needed i.e. to etablish your internet connection or whatever.
     
  19. yuuneko

    yuuneko

    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2007
    Flyff dont have a framelimiter and it always want to get MAX fps.
    thats mean u always have maximum processor resourses used.

    maybe is some.. um.. 3rd part processor usage limiter? ;o
     
  20. DoomzDay

    DoomzDay

    Messages:
    872
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2007
    The tut that i posted that i mentioned in page one i belive helps lower cp usage a bit..just try it out
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page