1. Hi, Guest,

    Currently we have three official hacks running. CSGO, Battlefield Hardline and Audition America. Be sure to check them out!

    CSGO - "50 Shades of Gaben" - CSGO Cheat

    Battlefield Hardline Cheat - FREE

    Audition Redbana Hack [ARH Modz]

    More to Come!
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
CSGO VIP Cheats now available!! Click here to get a copy!
Dismiss Notice
Want to Shorten Your Long URL? Check out our sister website Tiniurl to solve your needs!

How to reduce the amount of lag you have while playing !

Discussion in 'World of Warcraft' started by Akutski, Jan 30, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Akutski

    Akutski Retired Staff Member

    Messages:
    1,364
    Likes Received:
    2
    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2005
    First if you don't care about the visual effects of your computer i.e. (your windows look), and your more concerned about your computer's performance then follow this step:

    1) Right click on "My computer" (and make sure its the origional folder and not a shortcut)

    2) Then click on propertise

    3) Yhen click on the "advanced" tab

    4) Underneath the "performance" option click on "settings"

    5) You should then have a new windows box open and you should be under the tab "Visual effects"

    6) Check the "adjust to perforamance" button (this will reduce your visual effects but will increase your performance). However, if you want to select the options you want as your visual effects manually then check the "custom" button, and select the options underneath manually.

    7) Now click on "OK" all the way through to save your setting and voila :)

    Here is another step to reduce your lag a bit more.

    1) Right click on "My computer" (and make sure its the origional folder and not a shortcut)

    2) Then click on propertise

    3) Yhen click on the "advanced" tab

    4) Underneath the "performance" option click on "settings"

    5) You should then have a new windows box open and you should be under the tab "Visual effects"

    6) Now click on the "Advanced" tab

    7) Underneath the "virtual memory" click on the "change" button

    8) Now select the drive you want to add virtual memory on

    9) select the "custom size" box

    10) as initial size set the minimum MB you want it to use from yuor hard drive, and as your Maximum size just set it to the maximum amount of MB you want virtual memry to use up from your hard drive.

    personally mine is set from 800 - 1500 MB on two of my drives

    11) Once you have done that click on the "set" button then click on the "ok" button all the way through to save all your new settings

    Now you can play your wow game as well as other games and expereince a reduction of lag :)

    quick tip: Before you play, make sure you close all your background application that you dont need e.g. msn messenger, norton etc... that will help lower lag not greatly but still will help :)

    NOTE: I will keep this thread open incase if any1 has some more information about how to reduce lag, do NOT post anything else or you will get a warning of +2. YOU HAVE BEEN WARNED !
     
    Last edited: Jan 30, 2006
  2. bobby177

    bobby177

    Messages:
    68
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2005
    You can also open WoW then Ctrl+Alt+Del, go to processes tab, and then right click WoW and set it to a high priority.
     
  3. Ramuuh

    Ramuuh

    Messages:
    128
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2005
    you could use feecap (http://www.freecap.ru/eng/?p=)
    ... i live in middle east and i play us wow... i get around 400 ping instead of around 1500... just download it, open it, go settings, put in the settings: proxy and port are depending on where u are, and click on http, then click on apply... thats pretty much it, .. u can look around the settings to put it how u want it in the other tabs... then after u click ok in settings, just click "new application" .. then find the launcher in your computer, and ur all set...

    p.s : this works for wow and many other progs, but it doesnt work for some like steam...
     
  4. Sacred_Phoenix

    Sacred_Phoenix

    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2005
    I'm ALMOST COMPLETELY SURE if you play in windowed mode the lagg is reduced a bit. you can do this in the video settings menu.
     
  5. gonX

    gonX

    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2006
    bobby177 - it will then suck so much cpu that your mouse sometimes wont react.

    Sacred_Phoenix - i dont think so

    ------------------------------

    You can also shut down all programs that aren't used;
    If you are using WinXP the only programs running (under processes) should be:
    Program name | User
    -----------------------------------------
    Active Systemprocess SYSTEM
    System SYSTEM
    smss.exe SYSTEM
    csrss.exe SYSTEM
    winlogon.exe SYSTEM
    services.exe SYSTEM
    lsass.exe SYSTEM
    svchost.exe SYSTEM
    svchost.exe NETWORK <something, im not running english windows>
    svchost.exe SYSTEM (yes again)
    svchost.exe NETWORK <something...>
    svchost.exe LOCAL SERVICE (maybe that one)
    explorer.exe <user>

    --------------

    Then optional programs running can be (all running under user):
    pstrip.exe (A program for tweaking your graphics card)
    Ventrilo.exe :)P)
    TeamSpeak2.exe :)P)
    point32.exe (microsoft mouse program)
    game_<something>.exe (logitech's above)
    WoW.exe (of course ^^)
    winamp.exe (it's not recommend because it uses a bit (or a lot for some people) cpu)
    And maybe some other programs but it's only recommended! You don't have to do it.

    ---------------------------

    You can also disable DEP ([D]ata [E]xecution [P]revention) (especially if you have a Athlon64)

    You can also do this:
    Delete content of %temp% (a variable) folder
    Delete content of %SystemRoot%/Prefetch folder
    Empty cookies etc.
    Defragment your drive
    Re-installing windows (should be done single a year)

    Thats all i think of.

    ~gonX
     
    Last edited: Apr 23, 2006
  6. Dark Magician

    Dark Magician

    Messages:
    66
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2006
    Increasing Virtual memory is always a good way to reduce. Also keeping your hard drive less than 50% full is very helpful. In the end your ping realy relies on amount of people on server and your internet speed. Oh, and closing out background programs helps a little too.
     
  7. synshadow

    synshadow

    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2005
    If im not mistaken, i used to reduce the desktop resolution, and the [F]rames [P]er econd shot through the roof. The reason why im sort of contradictin myself is because increasing the resolution in the game itself originally increased your desktop resolution as well, like if you press the windows key youll see the desktop becomes a high resolution (depending on your ingame resolution). But try it, it might be that youre releasing pixel stress off of your video card by doing so. =)
     
  8. bombhell

    bombhell Banned

    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2006
    wow thnx for all da tips i lag in all the main citys and it realy ticks me off hope it will help
     
  9. djloco81

    djloco81

    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2006
    Just another thing for the virtual memory
    Rule of Thumb is 2.5x the total mem you have
    so if you have 512mb it should be around 1.2GB of total Virtual Memory.
    I've been using it like this, works for me all the time.
    Also you should disable any "dual screen/tv mode" if you video card supports it. Always better to have 1 screen to project then 2
     
  10. burhan

    burhan

    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2006
    thnx guys that really good!!thnx aigne
     
  11. tra12

    tra12

    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2006
    worked great thanx
     
  12. tra12

    tra12

    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2006
  13. trolemom

    trolemom

    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2006
    woww!thanx m8 i really need this :)
     
  14. Shini_Gami

    Shini_Gami

    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2006
    making it high priority can result in game freezing.... this was what happen to me
     
  15. Impulse

    Impulse

    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2006
    If you have a very large HDD, Defragging it can help a lot by reducing HD seek times, lowering load times, and reducing lag.
     
  16. JesseS420

    JesseS420

    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2006
    if you want less lag by a new graphix card and 2gb of dual channel ddr ram and a 3.4ghz processor
     
  17. rayne58

    rayne58

    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2006
    I dont know if anyone said this already but putting the game in wndow mode helps SO MUCH!! I went from an average of 8 fps to an average of 18 fps
     
  18. Scarecrow

    Scarecrow

    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2006
    If you're behind a firewall or router, you could also open up some ports.
    I'm sure if you visit this page and select your router it will tell you what to do.
    www[DOT]portforward[DOT]com/english/routers/port_forwarding/routerindex.htm

    Quoted from a particular part of that site:
    Blizzard has also set up a help desk for configuring Windows XP and Mac firewalls.
    Win XP SP2 - www[DOT]blizzard[DOT]com/support/wow/?id=aww01218p
    Mac OS X - www[DOT]blizzard[DOT]com/support/wow/?id=aww01216p
     
  19. Mr_Game_and_Watch

    Mr_Game_and_Watch Banned

    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2006
    Umm... As for the "initial MB" part, I think I did something wrong there, because I set it to what I wanted it at, started up WoW, and got an error upon entering the world.

    It said that the display drivers "stopped working."

    And since I forgot what both the Minimum and Maximum MB's were at, I don't think I can fix it. I tried setting it at, "System managed size" and starting WoW, and I don't get the error I got last time, but it does disconnect frequently.

    Solutions? D:
     
  20. liljkiller00

    liljkiller00

    Messages:
    74
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2006
    can u be more specific on the settings?
    how can i figure out wat to put in for proxy and port?
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page